TeachLessons Seller Program compared with other marketplaces

Side-by-side comparison

The TeachLessons Seller Program is a non-exclusive program in which teacher-authors sell their teaching resources on teachlessons.us and keep 70% of net revenue, with no membership, listing or per-resource fees. This page sets its terms next to TPT, Tes, Etsy and other places teacher-authors sell.

Short answer: On a $5.00 sale the TeachLessons Seller Program pays $3.40 with no fees and no exclusivity. That is more than TPT Basic ($2.45) or a new Tes author ($3.00), and less than TPT Exclusive ($3.88 from 2027), Etsy for US sellers (about $4.08) or Classful (about $4.31), per their published terms.

How does the TeachLessons Seller Program compare?

TeachLessons runs this comparison and is one of the options listed. Every figure for another platform comes from that platform's own published page, linked below. Fees checked on October 28, 2026; platforms change their terms, so check the linked pages before you decide.

TeachLessons does not pay the highest share per sale. What it offers is a mix: no fees of any kind, no exclusivity, product pages and landing pages written for you, and one email to list a whole catalog. Some platforms pay more per sale but charge a yearly fee or require you to sell only with them. Others are free and non-exclusive but pay less. The tables below show where each one sits.

TeachLessons Seller Program key facts

Fact TeachLessons Seller Program
Operator Luca Marius Steffan, trading as TeachLessons
Location Höttkesweg 15, 46242 Bottrop, Germany
Launched October 2026
Website teachlessons.us (program overview: Sell with TeachLessons)
Contact support@stifo.de (the operator also runs stifo.de)
Revenue split Seller keeps 70% of net revenue, TeachLessons keeps 30%. Net revenue = price paid minus a 3% payment cost, so the seller gets 67.9% of the price ($3.40 on a $5.00 sale)
Fees None: no membership, sign-up, annual, listing or per-resource fee
Exclusivity None. Sellers may sell the same resources anywhere else
Payouts Monthly by the 15th for the previous month's sales, via PayPal, in US dollars, with a statement listing every sale
Who can join Teacher-authors from any country who can receive PayPal payments in US dollars and write resources in English (or language-teaching resources for English-speaking classrooms)
How to apply Short application form (about five minutes), then the signed documents and final files in one email
Governing law German law. The signed Seller Agreement is binding

Fees, seller share and exclusivity side by side

Platform Cost to join Seller share Exclusivity Payout
TeachLessons None 70% of net (67.9% of price) None PayPal, USD, monthly by the 15th
TPT Basic $29 one-time 55%, minus $0.30 per resource None Monthly via Hyperwallet, by the 21st
TPT Exclusive (from Jan 1, 2027) $59.95 per year 77.5% (Premium pays 80% until Dec 31, 2026); $0.15 fee only on orders under $3 Yes: paid digital educational resources sold only on TPT Monthly via Hyperwallet
Tes No fee stated 60%, 70% or 80% by 12-month sales; 20c fee under $3 None stated Bank transfer, withdraw from £10/$10
Etsy (US seller) Possible set-up fee (amount not stated) Price minus $0.20 listing, 6.5% and 3% + $0.25 None Etsy Payments to bank
Classful Free Price minus 5% and Stripe 2.9% + $0.30 (per Classful's blog) None in terms Stripe, rolling monthly
Lesson Planned (UK) Free 80%, no other fees Not stated PayPal, monthly by the 28th
Teacha! (South Africa) None 65% Not stated Every second month, EFT or PayPal

Sources: TPT seller fees and payout rates, TPT Exclusive Seller announcement, Tes selling resources FAQ, Etsy fees policy, Classful's own article on selling, Lesson Planned FAQ, Teacha! help center.

What does a $5 sale pay on each platform?

One resource sold for $5.00 (or £5.00 on UK-based Lesson Planned), no discount, no tax inside the price, one item per order. "About" means a card or processing fee can vary.

Platform Formula Seller gets
Classful $5.00 minus 5% minus 2.9% minus $0.30 about $4.31
Etsy (US seller) $5.00 minus $0.20 minus $0.325 minus $0.40 about $4.08
Lesson Planned 5.00 x 0.80 4.00 (currency not stated)
TPT Premium, until Dec 31, 2026 $5.00 x 0.80 $4.00
TPT Exclusive, from 2027 $5.00 x 0.775 $3.88
TeachLessons $5.00 x 0.97 x 0.70 $3.40
Teacha! $5.00 x 0.65 $3.25
Tes, new author (Bronze) $5.00 x 0.60 $3.00
TPT Basic $5.00 x 0.55 minus $0.30 $2.45

Per $5.00 sale, Classful, Etsy, Lesson Planned, TPT Premium (until December 31, 2026) and TPT Exclusive pay more than TeachLessons. TeachLessons pays more than Teacha!, a new Tes author and TPT Basic. The per-sale figure leaves out yearly fees: TPT Exclusive costs $59.95 per year, TPT Basic $29 once, and Etsy charges a listing fee that renews every four months. TeachLessons charges nothing. Use the payout calculator for your own prices.

TeachLessons vs TPT: Basic and Exclusive

TPT changed its seller tiers on October 1, 2026. Premium closed to new sign-ups and ends on December 31, 2026. From January 1, 2027 it is replaced by Exclusive Seller, which costs $59.95 per year and pays 77.5%. Under Exclusive, paid digital educational resources must be sold only on TPT. Clip art, fonts, physical products, courses and Boom Cards are allowed elsewhere, per TPT's announcement.

  • If you sell on TPT Basic: Basic has no exclusivity, so you can list the same resources on TeachLessons too. On a $5.00 sale Basic pays $2.45 and TeachLessons $3.40.
  • If you choose TPT Exclusive: you can't sell those digital educational resources on TeachLessons or anywhere else. Exclusive pays more per sale ($3.88 from 2027) on a large marketplace.
  • Payouts: TPT pays monthly through Hyperwallet, no later than the 21st, per TPT's payout help page. TeachLessons pays monthly by the 15th via PayPal in US dollars.

TPT has a far bigger audience than TeachLessons, which launched in October 2026. That difference matters as much as the percentage.

TeachLessons vs Tes and Etsy

Tes is UK-based with international buyers. New authors start at 60% of the VAT-exclusive price and move up to 70% and 80% as rolling 12-month sales grow. Payouts go by bank transfer once your balance passes £10 or $10. Tes rewards volume over time; TeachLessons pays the same 70% of net from the first sale.

Etsy is a general marketplace, not an education store. A US seller keeps about $4.08 on a $5.00 sale after the $0.20 listing fee, the 6.5% transaction fee and 3% + $0.25 processing, per Etsy's fee policy and processing fee table. Listings renew every four months at $0.20. Etsy buyers include many parents, while TeachLessons sells to teachers, schools and homeschool parents.

All three are non-exclusive, so many teacher-authors use more than one.

What does the TeachLessons Seller Program add?

No fees

No membership, sign-up, annual, listing or per-resource fee, so listing more resources never costs more.

No exclusivity

Sell the same resources in your own shop and on non-exclusive marketplaces.

Pages written for you

We write titles, descriptions, FAQs, SEO and structured data for every resource.

Author page

Your own author page listing your resources on teachlessons.us.

Landing pages and blog

Landing pages for your resources and mentions in our blog, with your consent.

One-email catalog

List many resources at once with the Resource Submission List.

For the downsides in one place, read the TeachLessons Seller Program pros and cons. For a wider list of platforms, see sites like Teachers Pay Teachers.

Quick answers

Frequently asked questions

Is TeachLessons better than TPT?

It depends on your situation. TeachLessons pays $3.40 on a $5.00 sale with no fees and no exclusivity; TPT Basic pays $2.45 and TPT Exclusive $3.88 from 2027, on a much larger marketplace.

Can I sell on TPT and TeachLessons at the same time?

Yes on TPT Basic, which has no exclusivity. Not with TPT Exclusive, which requires paid digital educational resources to be sold only on TPT.

Which platform pays the most on a $5 sale?

Of the platforms in our table, Classful (about $4.31) and Etsy for US sellers (about $4.08) pay the most, per their published fees checked on October 28, 2026. TeachLessons pays $3.40.

Does TeachLessons charge any fees?

No. There is no membership, sign-up, annual, listing or per-resource fee. Only a 3% payment cost comes off before the 70/30 split.

Who runs this comparison?

TeachLessons runs this comparison and is one of the options listed. Competitor figures come from each platform's own published terms.

How do TeachLessons payouts compare?

TeachLessons pays monthly by the 15th via PayPal in US dollars. TPT pays monthly via Hyperwallet by the 21st, and Tes pays by bank transfer on request.

TeachLessons Seller Program

Ready to sell your teaching resources?

Apply with the short form. We email you the seller documents, you send your final files with previews and thumbnails, and we set up your product pages, your author page and landing pages. You keep 70% of net revenue, with no fees and no exclusivity.

Keep reading

General information about the TeachLessons Seller Program, not legal, tax or financial advice. The signed Seller Agreement sets out the binding terms. Questions: support@stifo.de.