Sites like Teachers Pay Teachers: where to sell teaching resources
Fees, payouts and exclusivity rules for 16 places teacher-authors can sell, taken from each platform's own pages. TeachLessons runs this comparison and is one of the options listed.
Short answer: The main sites like Teachers Pay Teachers are Tes, Etsy, Classful, Boom Learning, TeacherStore.io, Lesson Planned, Teacha! and your own shop on Payhip, Gumroad, Classmade or Shopify. On a $5 sale they pay from $3.00 to about $4.56, against $2.45 on TPT Basic. TeachLessons pays $3.40, charges no fees and writes your product pages.
Which sites are like Teachers Pay Teachers?
Disclosure: TeachLessons runs this comparison and is one of the options listed. We put ourselves first because it's our page, not because we pay the most per sale. We don't. The tables below show where other sites pay more.
The table covers every platform whose seller terms we could confirm on its own website, compared with Teachers Pay Teachers (TPT). Fees checked on October 28, 2026; platforms change their terms, so check the linked pages before you decide.
| Platform | Type | Cost to join | Your share | $5 sale pays | Exclusive? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TeachLessons | Store, pages written for you | None | 70% of net (67.9% of price) | $3.40 | No |
| TPT Basic | Teacher marketplace | $29 one-time | 55%, minus $0.30 per resource | $2.45 | No |
| TPT Exclusive (from Jan 1, 2027) | Teacher marketplace | $59.95 per year | 77.5% (Premium pays 80% until Dec 31, 2026) | $3.88 | Yes, paid digital educational resources TPT-only |
| Tes | Teacher marketplace (UK) | None stated | 60%, 70% or 80% by 12-month sales | $3.00 for a new author | None stated |
| Etsy (US seller) | General marketplace | Possible set-up fee | After $0.20 listing, 6.5%, 3% + $0.25 | About $4.08 | No |
| Classful | Marketplace and shops | Free | After 5% and Stripe 2.9% + $0.30 | About $4.31 | No |
| Boom Learning | Interactive cards | Paid Publisher membership | 85% in the Boom Store | $4.25, minus PayPal payout fee | None stated |
| TeacherStore.io | Marketplace and community | $99 per year after a free trial | 80% | $4.00 | No |
| Classmade | Own storefront | Free plan or Pro | Free 85%, Pro 100%, Stripe on top | About $3.81 (Free) | No |
| Payhip | Own storefront | $0, $29 or $99 per month | 95% to 100%, processor on top | About $4.31 (Free) | No |
| Gumroad | Own storefront | $0 per month | Direct: 10% + $0.50, plus processing | About $4.00 before processing | No |
| Shopify Basic (US) | Your own website | $29 to $39 per month | Card fee 2.9% + 30 cents | About $4.56 before plan fee | No |
| Lesson Planned | Teacher marketplace (UK) | Free | 80% | 4.00 (currency not stated) | Not stated |
| Teacha! | Teacher marketplace (South Africa) | Free | 65% | $3.25 | Not stated |
Made By Teachers, Teach Simple and TinyTap are covered further down with the facts we could confirm. TeachShare and Amped Up Learning also show resources from individual sellers, but we couldn't confirm their seller terms on their official pages, so they are not in the table.
What is changing at TPT on January 1, 2027?
On October 1, 2026, TPT announced on its official seller blog that the Premium Seller membership is being replaced. Here is what TPT's own announcement and Exclusive Seller FAQ say:
- Premium closed to new sign-ups on October 1, 2026 and ends on December 31, 2026.
- From January 1, 2027 it is replaced by the Exclusive Seller membership: $59.95 per year, renewing automatically through PayPal. Current Premium sellers pay no extra fee; their last Premium payment covers it.
- Premium pays 80% until December 31, 2026; Exclusive pays 77.5% from January 1, 2027. A $0.15 fee per resource applies only on orders under $3.
- Exclusive sellers must sell their digital educational resources only on TPT. That includes memberships or subscriptions containing them and licenses for them. You may market elsewhere, but the purchase has to happen in the TPT store.
- Still allowed off TPT: non-educational digital items such as clip art and fonts, physical products, courses and PD, Boom Cards and Kindle books. Free resources can be offered on and off TPT, but a resource given away free elsewhere can't be sold on TPT.
- Premium sellers who don't opt in by December 31, 2026 become Basic sellers on January 1, 2027. TPT waives the $29 Basic fee for them and refunds $5 for each remaining month.
- After January 1, 2027, a seller who leaves Exclusive for Basic waits one year before rejoining and gets no prorated refund of the Exclusive fee.
So Exclusive sellers earn more per sale on TPT but can't list paid digital teaching resources anywhere else, including TeachLessons. Basic sellers keep 55% minus $0.30 per resource and can sell the same files elsewhere. Our article on choosing between Exclusive and Basic works through the numbers.
What does a $5 sale pay on each site?
Each row assumes one resource sold for $5.00, no discount, no sales tax inside the price and one item per order. "About" means a payment fee varies by card, country or processor. Monthly or yearly plan fees are not included in the per-sale figure, so check the last column.
| Platform | How it's worked out | $5 sale pays | Not included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shopify Basic (US) | $5.00 - 2.9% - $0.30 | About $4.56 | $29 to $39 monthly plan |
| Classful | $5.00 - 5% - 2.9% - $0.30 | About $4.31 | Nothing stated |
| Payhip Free plan | $5.00 - 5% - processor (e.g. 2.9% + $0.30) | About $4.31 | Nothing on the Free plan |
| Boom Learning (Boom Store) | $5.00 x 0.85 | $4.25 | PayPal payout fee, Publisher membership |
| Etsy (US seller) | $5.00 - $0.20 - 6.5% - (3% + $0.25) | About $4.08 | Listing renewal, any set-up fee |
| TeacherStore.io | $5.00 x 0.80 | $4.00 | Yearly plan after the trial |
| Gumroad (direct sale) | $5.00 - 10% - $0.50 | About $4.00 | Card or PayPal processing |
| TPT Exclusive, 2027 | $5.00 x 0.775 | $3.88 | $59.95 yearly fee |
| Classmade Free plan | $5.00 x 0.85 - Stripe | About $3.81 | Nothing on the Free plan |
| TeachLessons | $5.00 x 0.97 x 0.70 | $3.40 | Nothing: no fees |
| Teacha! | $5.00 x 0.65 | $3.25 | Nothing stated |
| Tes (new author) | $5.00 x 0.60 | $3.00 | Nothing stated |
| TPT Basic | $5.00 x 0.55 - $0.30 | $2.45 | $29 one-time fee |
TeachLessons is in the lower half. TPT Exclusive pays 48 cents more per $5 sale, Etsy about 68 cents more, and your own Shopify shop about $1.16 more before the plan fee. What you get from us instead is set out in the next section. You can run any price through our payout calculator, and what a $5 sale pays on each platform explains each formula.
Sites like Teachers Pay Teachers, one by one
1. TeachLessons (our program)
TeachLessons sells English-language teaching resources on teachlessons.us. Buyers are teachers, schools and homeschool parents, mainly in the US, UK, Canada, Australia, Singapore and international schools. The seller program launched in October 2026, so it is new.
- Fees: none. No membership, sign-up, annual, listing or per-resource fee.
- Your share: 70% of net revenue. Net revenue is the price paid minus a 3% payment cost.
- $5 sale: $3.40. A $10 sale pays $6.79.
- Payout: monthly by the 15th, PayPal, US dollars, with a statement listing every sale.
- Selling elsewhere: allowed. No exclusivity, unless another platform's exclusive deal covers a resource.
- Who it suits: teacher-authors who want a second channel without fees and without writing listings themselves.
What you get instead of a higher percentage: we write your product pages (titles, descriptions, FAQ, SEO and structured data), build your author page and landing pages for your resources, and mention you in our blog. See author page, blog and landing pages and free SEO for teacher-authors.
The downsides: we pay less per sale than TPT Exclusive, Etsy and most own-shop setups. We are a new program with a smaller audience than the big marketplaces, and we can't promise any number of sales. Payouts are PayPal only. You don't upload yourself: you send files by email, and price changes take up to 5 business days. There is no review round, so you send only final versions. The full list is on TeachLessons pros and cons. Source: our key terms.
2. Teachers Pay Teachers Basic
- Fees: $29 one-time. 55% payout rate, then $0.30 per resource.
- $5 sale: $2.45.
- Payout: monthly through Hyperwallet (direct deposit, PayPal, Venmo or wire, depending on country), no later than the 21st and usually around the 10th.
- Selling elsewhere: allowed, no exclusivity.
- Who it suits: sellers who want TPT's buyer traffic and also want to sell elsewhere.
- Source: TPT Seller Fees and Payout Rates, How do I get paid
3. Teachers Pay Teachers Exclusive Seller
- Fees: $59.95 per year. 77.5% from January 1, 2027 (Premium pays 80% until then). $0.15 per resource only on orders under $3.
- $5 sale: $3.88 from January 1, 2027 (Premium pays $4.00 until December 31, 2026).
- Payout: same as Basic.
- Selling elsewhere: not for paid digital educational resources. See the list of exceptions above.
- Who it suits: sellers who earn most of their income on TPT and will sell teaching resources only there.
- Source: TPT Exclusive Seller announcement, Exclusive Seller FAQs
4. Tes
- Fees: no joining fee stated. Royalty on the VAT/GST-exclusive price by rolling 12-month sales: 60% up to £999.99, 70% from £1,000, 80% from £6,000. A 20p or 20c fee applies under £3 or $3.
- $5 sale: $3.00 for a new author, $3.50 at Silver, $4.00 at Gold.
- Payout: bank transfer once your balance passes £10 or $10, at most once a week. 5 to 7 working days in the UK, 10 to 12 elsewhere. PayPal isn't mentioned.
- Selling elsewhere: no exclusivity stated.
- Who it suits: UK teachers and anyone writing for UK curricula. Our UK selling guide covers it in detail.
- Source: Tes selling resources FAQ
5. Etsy
- Fees: $0.20 per listing (renewing every 4 months, and after each sale on multi-quantity listings), 6.5% transaction fee, US processing 3% + $0.25. A one-time set-up fee may be charged; Etsy's policy doesn't state the amount.
- $5 sale: about $4.08 for a US seller. For a UK seller, a £5 sale pays about £4.10 before VAT on Etsy's fees.
- Payout: Etsy Payments to your bank daily, weekly, every two weeks or monthly, generally within 5 business days.
- Selling elsewhere: allowed.
- Who it suits: printables that parents and homeschoolers buy as well as teachers. See Etsy vs teacher marketplaces.
- Source: Etsy fees policy, processing fee table
6. Classful
- Fees: free to join, no listing fees. 5% platform fee plus Stripe 2.9% + $0.30, according to Classful's own article (its pricing page didn't load for us).
- $5 sale: about $4.31.
- Payout: through Stripe on a rolling monthly schedule.
- Selling elsewhere: no exclusivity in the Terms.
- Who it suits: sellers who can use Stripe and want a shop page.
- Source: Classful for merchants, Classful fee article
7. Boom Learning
- Fees: you need a paid Publisher membership (we couldn't confirm the price). Boom keeps 15% on Boom Store sales and 10% on redemptions from external marketplaces.
- $5 sale: $4.25, minus a PayPal payout fee set by PayPal.
- Payout: monthly via PayPal, completed by the 15th, $5 minimum.
- Selling elsewhere: no exclusivity stated. Boom Cards are also explicitly allowed off TPT under Exclusive.
- Who it suits: authors of self-checking digital task cards.
- Source: Boom payouts and service fees
8. TeacherStore.io
- Fees: Seller plan $99 per year after a free trial (a $49 offer is shown). Higher plans cost more. TeacherStore.io pays Stripe fees out of its 20%.
- $5 sale: $4.00, plus the yearly plan.
- Payout: monthly via Stripe, $25 minimum.
- Selling elsewhere: allowed, all plans are non-exclusive.
- Who it suits: sellers who sell enough to cover a yearly fee.
- Source: TeacherStore.io seller page
9. Classmade
- Fees: Free plan for up to 10 published resources, 15% per sale. Pro plan C$29.99 per month or C$299.99 per year, 0% per sale. Stripe fees on top.
- $5 sale: about $3.81 on Free, about $4.56 on Pro before the plan fee.
- Payout: Stripe to your bank on Stripe's schedule.
- Selling elsewhere: allowed.
- Who it suits: teachers who want their own checkout without building a website.
- Source: Classmade pricing
10. Payhip
- Fees: Free plan 5% per sale, Plus $29 per month + 2%, Pro $99 per month + 0%. PayPal or Stripe fees on top. Payhip handles EU/UK VAT and US/Canadian sales tax on digital sales.
- $5 sale: about $4.31 on the Free plan.
- Payout: straight to your connected PayPal or Stripe account.
- Selling elsewhere: allowed.
- Who it suits: sellers with an email list or social following.
- Source: Payhip pricing
11. Gumroad
- Fees: no monthly fee. Direct sales 10% + $0.50, card or PayPal processing on top. Sales through Gumroad's Discover marketplace: 30%.
- $5 sale: about $4.00 before processing on a direct sale, $3.50 through Discover.
- Payout: direct deposit or PayPal, depending on country.
- Selling elsewhere: allowed.
- Who it suits: sellers with their own following.
- Source: Gumroad pricing
12. Your own Shopify shop
- Fees: Basic plan $39 per month, or $29 per month billed yearly. US online card rate from 2.9% + 30 cents with Shopify Payments. We didn't check the cost of a digital-download app.
- $5 sale: about $4.56 before the plan fee.
- Selling elsewhere: allowed, it's your shop.
- Who it suits: sellers with steady sales and their own traffic.
- Source: Shopify pricing
13. Lesson Planned
- Fees: free to join. 80% on all sales, no other charges.
- Sale of 5.00: 4.00 (payout currency not stated; the site is UK-oriented).
- Payout: PayPal, monthly, by the 28th of the following month.
- Selling elsewhere: not stated.
- Who it suits: UK teachers.
- Source: Lesson Planned FAQ
14. Teacha!
- Fees: free to join. Teacha! keeps 35%, you keep 65%.
- $5 sale: $3.25.
- Payout: every second month, R500 minimum, bank transfer or PayPal.
- Selling elsewhere: not stated.
- Who it suits: South African teachers and sellers who want buyers in Africa.
- Source: Teacha! help center
15. Made By Teachers
Made By Teachers advertises "up to 85% royalties" depending on the plan, with no joining fee, and says it aims to pay monthly by PayPal before the 21st, minus a 2% PayPal payout fee. The plan rates aren't published, and we couldn't confirm on its official pages whether it is taking new sellers right now. Check the join page and seller FAQ yourself.
16. Teach Simple and TinyTap
Both pay from a subscription pool instead of per sale, so there is no $5 figure. Teach Simple shares 100% of downloading members' net subscriptions among contributors and offers a free upload service; its fees, payout timing and exclusivity rules didn't load for us. TinyTap pays creators 50% of subscription revenue after app-store fees and its own costs, split by plays, via PayPal with a $100 minimum. Activities must be built in TinyTap.
Can you sell on TPT and other sites at the same time?
Yes, as a TPT Basic seller. Basic has no exclusivity, so you can list the same resources on TeachLessons, Etsy, Tes, your own shop or anywhere else. None of the other platforms whose terms we could check state an exclusivity rule either.
No, for paid digital educational resources, if you are a TPT Exclusive seller. You can still sell clip art, fonts, physical products, courses and Boom Cards elsewhere, and you can link to your TPT store from your own website. Sending those teaching resources to TeachLessons would break the TPT agreement, so please don't send them to us while you're Exclusive.
If you're a Premium seller deciding before December 31, 2026, write down which resources you'd want to sell elsewhere before you opt in. Our checklist on adding resources to another platform without breaching an agreement helps, and non-exclusive marketplaces lists where cross-listing is allowed. If you decide to stay on Basic and add a channel, staying on TPT Basic and adding TeachLessons shows the setup.
How and when does each site pay, and who can sell from where?
| Platform | How you're paid | When | Who can sell |
|---|---|---|---|
| TeachLessons | PayPal, US dollars | Monthly, by the 15th | Any country, if you can receive PayPal in USD and write in English |
| TPT | Hyperwallet: direct deposit, PayPal, Venmo or wire | Monthly, by the 21st | Anyone who registers; options depend on your country |
| Tes | Bank transfer | Withdraw from £10/$10, up to weekly | 18+, most countries; a few excluded |
| Etsy | Etsy Payments to bank | Daily to monthly, your choice | Etsy Payments countries |
| Classful | Stripe | Rolling monthly | 18+, depends on Stripe in your country |
| Boom Learning | PayPal | Monthly, by the 15th, $5 minimum | Publisher members with PayPal |
| TeacherStore.io | Stripe | Monthly, $25 minimum | Depends on Stripe in your country |
| Classmade | Stripe to bank | Stripe's schedule | Supported Stripe countries |
| Payhip | Your PayPal or Stripe | Straight away | International, 13 processors |
| Gumroad | Direct deposit or PayPal, by country | Not confirmed | Open sign-up |
| Lesson Planned | PayPal | Monthly, by the 28th | "Anyone and everyone" |
| Teacha! | Bank transfer or PayPal | Every second month, R500 minimum | Teachers anywhere |
Outside the US, payout method matters more than the percentage. PayPal-based options (TeachLessons, Boom, Lesson Planned, Made By Teachers) work wherever PayPal can receive money. Stripe-only platforms depend on Stripe being available where you live. Currency conversion fees then depend on your PayPal or bank account. Read where to sell teaching resources outside the US and selling from outside the US. For taxes on your income, ask a tax advisor in your country.
Before you move or add a site: a checklist
- Check which agreement each resource is under today. Anything covered by an exclusive deal stays where it is until that deal ends.
- Work out the payout at your real prices, not just at $5.
- Add up fixed costs: one-time fees, yearly plans, monthly plans and listing renewals.
- Check how you're paid: PayPal, Stripe, Hyperwallet or bank transfer, and whether it works in your country.
- Check the rights in your files. Fonts, clip art and images must be licensed for commercial use in resources that are sold, on every platform.
- Prepare previews and thumbnails. We require them as PNG or JPEG for every resource; other platforms set their own rules.
- Keep a list of which resource is on which platform at what price (see record-keeping on several platforms).
- Read the official pages linked below yourself; this page is a snapshot from October 28, 2026.
To add TeachLessons as one of your channels, fill in the short application form (about five minutes, no files). We email you the seller documents, and you send everything back in one email to support@stifo.de. The program overview has the full process.
Sources
Fees checked on October 28, 2026; platforms change their terms, so check the linked pages before you decide. Every competitor figure comes from the official pages listed here. Where a page didn't load or didn't state a fact, we left the number out.
- TeachLessons: Seller program key terms and the payout calculator
- Teachers Pay Teachers: Seller Fees and Payout Rates, How do I get paid as a Seller, Terms of Service, Exclusive Seller announcement (October 1, 2026), Exclusive Seller FAQs for existing Premium sellers
- Tes: Selling resources FAQ, Author royalty page
- Etsy: Fees and payments policy, Etsy Payments policy, payment processing fee table
- Classful: For merchants, Terms, Classful article with the fee numbers
- Boom Learning: Payment schedule, payouts and service fees, Quick start for authors
- TeacherStore.io: Seller page, Plans page
- Classmade: Pricing, Terms
- Payhip: Pricing, How do I get paid
- Gumroad: Pricing, Gumroad's fees
- Shopify: Pricing
- Lesson Planned: FAQ, Selling on Lesson Planned
- Teacha!: Seller commission help article, Payout help article
- Made By Teachers: Seller FAQ, Join and sell page
- Teach Simple: Become a contributor
- TinyTap: Sellers page
TeachShare (marketplace page) and Amped Up Learning (Sell With Us page): seller terms couldn't be confirmed on the official pages, so no figures are given. How we handle platform names is explained in how we compare platforms.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best site like Teachers Pay Teachers?
It depends on what you need. Etsy, Classful and your own shop pay more per $5 sale than TPT Basic; Tes is strongest in the UK; TeachLessons charges no fees and writes your product pages, but pays $3.40 on a $5 sale.
How much does TPT pay on a $5 sale?
On TPT Basic, $2.45 ($5.00 x 0.55 minus $0.30). TPT Premium pays 80% until December 31, 2026 ($4.00 on a $5 sale); TPT Exclusive pays 77.5% from January 1, 2027 ($3.88), before the $59.95 yearly fee.
Can I sell the same resources on TPT and TeachLessons?
Yes if you are a TPT Basic seller, because Basic has no exclusivity. Not if you are a TPT Exclusive seller, because paid digital educational resources must then be sold only on TPT.
Which site pays more per sale than TeachLessons?
On a $5 sale, TPT Exclusive ($3.88 from 2027), Etsy (about $4.08), TeacherStore.io ($4.00), Boom ($4.25), Classful and Payhip (about $4.31) and a Shopify shop (about $4.56) all pay more before plan fees. TPT Basic, Tes for new authors and Teacha! pay less.
Do any of these sites charge no fees at all?
TeachLessons, Lesson Planned and Teacha! charge no joining or membership fee; Lesson Planned says it deducts nothing beyond its 20%. TeachLessons deducts a 3% payment cost before the split. Classful and Payhip's Free plan have no joining fee but deduct payment processing.
Is Made By Teachers accepting new sellers?
We couldn't confirm it on Made By Teachers' official pages on October 28, 2026. Check its join page directly before you plan around it.
Add TeachLessons as a channel next to the one you use now
No fees and no exclusivity. You keep 70% of net revenue, we write your product pages and author page, and you're paid by PayPal every month. We can't promise sales, but it costs nothing to try.
Keep reading
General information about the TeachLessons Seller Program, not legal, tax or financial advice. The signed Seller Agreement sets out the binding terms. Questions: support@stifo.de.

